Skip to content

How Many Words Do These Pictures Speak?

February 3, 2009
tags:

Well…, the BIBLE!
It says a lot of things…

Yeah, it says that.
Maybe taking it literally isn’t the best approach…

Why? Because:

This is a problem. It makes it so people are

This is not fair. No matter what your values are. It even says so in the Bible.

In America, it is required of all citizens to

Because civil rights are our most important rights. Our God-given rights.

And taking them away is hate.

And,


After all,


Because you think LGBT people are 2nd class citizens. It’s not true.
And it’s not nice.


Do I even need the next picture?


All these pictures (c) their owners. Found via Flickr searches. Used without expressed permission for academic purposes under Fair Use guidelines.


I don’t want to distract your attention from the purpose of this: to convey a position using images, so here is a link to my reaction to this assignment. 




5 Comments leave one →
  1. Emmarie permalink
    February 4, 2009 12:38 AM

    Hi Brett,Love, love, love this visual argument. Your pictures are very colorful and dynamic, and your argument is compelling. I like the way you interwove text and image — not only with your own text but also with the choice to use pictures of signs and other written messages. It’s very, well, new media.I also like that you chose to link to your reaction rather than include it. That was my biggest problem with my own post: A bunch of photos followed by four-plus paragraphs of explanation is not quite a visual argument to me. However, the link isn’t working, at least not for me. Is there any way you could fix it? I’m interested to read what you have to say.

  2. My name is Brett, permalink
    February 4, 2009 4:56 AM

    Hey,thanks. I know its not working, I’m having HTML troubles lol. Should be up soon though. gah. I thought I was good at this…

  3. Alexandra Lynne permalink
    February 8, 2009 8:06 PM

    Brett,You do a phenomenal job with your visual argument. I would like to comment on the way you used both text and images to express your argument. Usually, words are used to clarify a picture, as a way of adding additional information next to an image. Rather than using text to comment on the meaning of the picture or add context to the image, you used the text and images interchangeably to create your argument. Although many of your pictures did incorporate text themselves (this is possibly why your argument was indeed so successful), I felt that the images and your text were equivalent to each other. I didn’t jump to the text to make sense of the picture, but rather looked at them on the same level, because they each gave me equal information. In other words, when I saw a picture, I knew exactly what you were talking about, and I experienced the same feeling when I read your text (which is obviously common). Great job on this post! Also, I really liked the way you created a separate link for the write-up portion of this post, as a way to not take away the significance of the images. I do agree completely with you that finding the “right” images is certainly a difficult task, but I think you do a really good job with what you were able to find.-Alex

  4. Delia DeCourcy permalink
    February 9, 2009 5:03 AM

    Brett- Powerful visual argument. I agree with Alex that your choice to use images that also have text was possibly one of the reasons your argument is so strong. The text between the pictures acts as a transition between images and a frame for the argument you build. The one piece that seems to be missing at the beginning of your argument is an image or text that states that the Bible says marriage can only exist between a man and a woman. That feels like an important statement to put in there to contextualize more clearly why you begin with the Bible reference. Interesting incorporation and discussion of civil rights. Well done.

  5. Vinal permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:51 PM

    Hey, Brett! I actually did my visual argument on gay marriage too, but in a completely different way. I tried to find images using a Google image search, but couldn’t find anything useful. It looks like Flickr is a better resource–the photos above work perfectly. Anyway, I love this post. The photos, combined with text, create a very compelling and convincing argument. Nice work!!!

Leave a Reply

