Skip to content

An Update and then Some

March 30, 2009

It’s been about a week and a half since my post about limiting my Facebook access. I figure it would be healthy to review the past 12 days.

The friend who I mentioned at the beginning who deleted her facebook kept her account deactivated for about four or five days. Her motivation for removing the facebook toxin was the same as mine: getting information from people (specifically an ex) who she did not want information about. Seeing someone on Facebook is, as probably ridiculous as it sounds, just like seeing them in real life. After all, if it’s not on Facebook, it’s probably not true, right (facebook official relationships, for example)?

For the three or four days, she was much happier. And, she was able to focus all of her energy on school work and being productive. She found other websites that she liked, as well.

By the fifth day, she was able to rid herself of the negative energy that Facebook was brining into her life. She reactivated the account and has used it sparingly. Although now it is getting back to the point where she’ll be Facebooking instead of homeworking.

I had not deactivated my account, but since that post my Facebook usage has dropped very significantly. I actually blame it a little bit on the new layout…it does not give the user nearly as much information as the old layout(s) did and it does not update quickly enough (because it if did that would be great for me, obviously). So, because there’s really nothing to see, I’ll scroll around quickly, and close it. If someone wrote on my wall or I received a friend request, I would go on. The most impressive thing, for me at least, was going almost two weeks without checking profiles of people I shouldn’t check.

I wouldn’t say my life has been made any easier by my decreased facebook usage. I guess I can’t say how it would have been different had I been using facebook as much, but I’m sure that reining in my facebook usage and practicing “everything in moderation” can only have a positive effect. Last night I had a relapse and checked a certain someone’s profile. It wasn’t a big deal, nothing was on there that would have made me particularly upset. However, it was as it we saw each other in real life. And like I said, that’s not good right now.

In a conversation with a brilliant Cornell pre-med student, we talked (rather, we texted) about how everything is connected. In science, he told/texted me, everything is related. I agreed with him, but I questioned as to why it was so interesting…why do you want to know the secrets of the universe?

Networks are our everything. From time immemorial the connectedness of people, societies, cultures, living things, nonliving things, countries, businesses, the world, the solar system, the universe, is all about networks. Networks, essentially, are God.

Why do we want to figure out God? If we answer all of our questions about Him, would we not guarentee our demise? Is it not better to leave such questions unanswered? Yes, we’ve found solstice in the name of God, but we’ve also fought wars, built countries, and seen terrorism and hate in His name. In the name of Networks, we’ve given up our privacy, our elusiveness, our personal bubble is gone because anyone in the world with an Airport or a Cat5 ethernet cord can plug right into you and download your soul.

Why do we want to figure out networks? People thrive on answering questions. The unknown is one of the greatest attractions for humans. But it is also unknown for a reason. The more we known, the more dangerous we become. And if we do get to the heart of the matter: God, or Networks, that will be dangerous.

Facebook, and social networking as a whole, has evolved into a God-like complex. It grants us too much information, and sheds light on the unknown. There is a point where we are better off staying where we are, because if we “move forward” will only take us to the end.

Okay, so apparently this turned a simple update into an admittedly weird diatribe against Facebook. Take it as a bit of a metaphor and not a direct attack on Mark and Co. The last half is more about (online social) networking in general than about Facebook in particular. But, I’m trying to make the point that new media in the form of networking (while it can be amazing, I know) is also juggernauting down a path we might not like to go down…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mphgobigred permalink
    March 31, 2009 12:57 AM

    Thanks for giving me the link to your new blog. You’ve come such a long way this past year, both as a person and as a writer. I’m so proud of you!-Marc

  2. Brett permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:04 PM

    lol. thanks for the comment/compliment. I like your handle or whatever.

Leave a Reply

