Skip to content

Onward and Digitally-ard

April 28, 2009
tags:

**any post from this point forward is not intended to be for SWC 200 and is not to be affiliated with me being a student at U-M.**

Ok so I am planning to continue this blog in its not academic sense (even though apparently it wasn’t academic enough to begin with…psh). I have no idea what direction it will take, but since I will no longer be covered by the copyright protection afforded to me by the great University of Michigan/17 USC §107, I am going through and removing all the copyrighted content where necessary. If I forget something and you know I can’t use it, please just tell me and don’t sue me. I’ll take it off. Anywho, more posts soon. I’m looking forward to it.
But to start things off, BOO BOOO BOOOOO!!!!!! SCOTUS
Supreme Court Backs F.C.C. on Indecency Rule (NYT)
Now Jack Bauer will never say “fuck.” Fuck.
“Even when used as an expletive, the F-Word’s power to insult and offend derives from its sexual meaning. Because the FCC’s prior safe-harbor-for-single-words approach would likely lead to more widespread use, and in light of technological advances reducing the costs of bleeping offending words, it was rational for the agency to step away from its old regime.” – Scalia.

So the supreme court is made up of expert linguists and cultural anthropologist? Because I’m pretty sure that Fuck has evolved from its sexual origin to become more of a universal exclamation of just about any feeling one might experience. That, and its just a fucking word (no sexual connotation implied), which everyone is going to hear at some point in their life, and everyone has a right to say. Fleeting expletives certainly are no good, but accidents happen. You can’t yell fire in a crowded theater and you can’t just say fuck on TV in front of america whenever you want, but do we really need justice scalia to indoctrinate us?

(Hat tip to ArsTechnica)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

